COVID-19 is changing the way we operate in the world, and we are more concerned than ever for the well being of those we have been called to serve. Our highest priority is our children, and you can feel confident we are continuing to administer therapy to our clients in person or through video teletherapy.

Every child deserves the opportunity to grow into a healthy and happy adult. We partner with families to develop the tools to keep their children safe and resources to support their child's healing when prevention fails.

MCAC relies on the generous support of our community to provide the services and support to the vulnerable populations that we serve in a trauma informed and child friendly environment at no cost to the families.  

The Mountain Child Advocacy Center is thrilled to announce that we now offer Parent-Child Interaction Therapy for children, 2-7, and their parents.

A collaborated community effort is the most effective in preventing abuse and supporting children and families when abuse occurs. Working together with our community partners to support and coordinate our efforts is critical to a safer community.

The Mountain Child Advocacy Center recently earned its national accreditation.  Click below to learn more about it!

Our Mission


 To identify and respond to child abuse and neglect in Buncombe County; by educating, advocating and empowering the public to protect children and reduce trauma through a coordinated community effort.

Families

Parent-child interaction therapy (PCIT) is an evidence-based treatment for young children with emotional and behavioral disorders that places emphasis on improving the quality of the parent-child relationship and changing parent-child interaction patterns. Children and their caregivers are seen together in PCIT.  Therapists typically coach from an observation room with a one-way mirror into the playroom, usinga “bug-in-the-ear” system for communicating to the parents as they play with their child. 

This treatment requires some specialized equipment to monitor, communicate and facilitate the parent-child interaction.  We are hoping some of our supporters would help us with the costs required to provide this amazing therapy.  The total cost for the equipment is around $2500, but any amount would be welcome.  Please consider donating to this great opportunity!

MCAC is grateful to partner with the Family Justice Center of Buncombe County and all of its partnering agencies. Through these collaborations we are able to provide services for families who have experienced domestic violence and sexual assault at their downtown location while providing our full array of services at our main location in Mission Children's Hospital Reuter Outpatient Center.

Supporters

Professionals

 During this national health crisis, Mountain CAC has reduced office coverage, and most of our staff are working from home.

For a quicker response to your needs, you may want to communicate via email. Here is a list of staff email addresses:
Executive Director

Geoff Sidoli, MSW, LCSW, gsidoli@mtncac.org
Assistant Director

Amy Purdy, advocacy@mtncac.org


All referrals should be addressed to our Family Advocate, Ebony Ward, MSW, LCSW-A at eward@mtncac.org

Clinical Programs Manager

Johnny Evans, MA, LMFT  jevans@mtncac.org
Community Prevention Educator

Colleen Burnet educator@mtncac.org
Prevention Educator for schools

Melissa Garrett, MSW MGarrett@mtncac.org
Fund Developer

Carla Musgrove, CMusgrove@mtncac.org


Our TF-CBT Rostered Therapists are:
           Angela Austin, LPC, LCAS-A                         AAustin@mtncac.org

        Chris Blanc, MS, LPC                                          CBlanc@mtncac.org
        Ashley Fiore, MSW, LCSW                             AFiore@mtncac.org
       Betsy Hurd, MSW, LCSW                                BHurd@mtncac.org
                 Heidi Kixmiller, MSW, LCSW                       HKixmiller@mtncac.org
    Xia MyersBell, LPC, LCAS-A, NCC            XBell@mtncac.org

    Sara Taylor, MA, LPC                                          STaylor@mtnc.org

Thank you and be well.